Being in charge

Today I had a brief conversation with a friend. I told him I was quitting my job to focus on school – doubling up classes in order to finish my degree a few months sooner. It is a bit of a risk, I suppose, to quit a job in such a time as this, with high unemployment rates all over, but given the situation it seems like the best option.

He encouraged me by saying “If you don’t take control of your own future someone else will.” I told him I didn’t want to have someone else take control of my future, unless that someone was Superman. Seriously, that’s what I said. Furthermore, I mean it. I trust Superman with my life, but I guess I’d still prefer to make my own decisions. Superman is great for keeping a life living, but I don’t know if I want him making my decisions for me.

In the end, I appreciated the advice my friend gave me. It sounds like a phrase that has probably existed for a while, but I’ll attribute it to my friend. I think it is very true that if we yield control of our decisions to fate, or just try to avoid making choices altogether, then someone else will take over making those choices for us, and that might not be so good. Unless, of course, that someone is Superman…maybe.

About paulbrodie

I am a writer and a musician. My education is in psychology with emphasis in industrial/organizational psychology. My work experience has been primarily with electronic document management. Academically and intellectually I am interested in criminology and sociology. I am married to my favorite person in the world and we have one daughter.
This entry was posted in Humorous, Thought expansion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about this?

