New Year’s Day

Today is the first day of 2013. Personally, I don’t get very excited over the New Year holiday, not anymore. Years ago I remember the excitement of staying up late, switching from the Twilight Zone marathon to Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve, counting down to the Time’s Square ball drop, and throwing confetti with my siblings. It was particularly fun to put confetti on the ceiling fan and let that disperse the fun. I don’t know if we actually did that at midnight or not, but I remember doing it at some point. Last night I was contemplating New Year celebrations and I thought that maybe the reason I don’t get excited about it anymore is that I experience the 1999-2000 year change. It isn’t every day you get to see the year change in all four digits.
I thought about that and realized it was a once in a lifetime event to see. The average person only gets to see one century change over. Some get to see two, but that isn’t common. Some people never even get to see a single century change. Of course, you are probably already aware that a century change doesn’t bring a change in all four digits, but it took me this whole thought process to realize it last night. After a minute or two I realized that experiencing a millenium change isn’t a once in a lifetime event, it is something more like once in a few dozen generations, or something. So maybe my disinterest in New Year celebrations results from having seen all four digits change over at once. These moments where only one digit changes at a time, ah, I can take it or leave it. Mostly I leave it.
In the future I’ll probably be more excited about it as my children get into the magic of staying up late and welcoming in a new calendar year. I’m always up for a holiday and an excuse to eat junk food and play games all day. The yearly reminder to contemplate life and reassess goals and accomplishments is also good, but hopefully that type of goal realignment occurs more regularly throughout the year. Of course, I have a slightly different approach to the whole resolution mindset. You can read about it here.
Happy New Year to you!

About paulbrodie

I am a writer and a musician. My education is in psychology with emphasis in industrial/organizational psychology. My work experience has been primarily with electronic document management. Academically and intellectually I am interested in criminology and sociology. I am married to my favorite person in the world and we have one daughter.
This entry was posted in Humorous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about this?

