Agree or disagree?

A Marine has written a letter to Senator Feinstein regarding her gun ban bill proposal. It is posted on CNN iReport. I think he worded it well and I encourage you to read it. In this case, and probably many others, I stand with the U.S. Marines, not Senator Feinstein.

I particularly like how he phrased this bit: “I am not your subject. I am the man who keeps you free. I am not your servant. I am the person whom you serve. I am not your peasant. I am the flesh and blood of America.”

What is the responsibility of the United States government? Is it to prevent anyone from hurting anyone else by removing all ability to do so? I can appreciate the intention of many to provide food for the hungry, homes for the homeless, clothes for the naked, health care for the sick, and state appointed parents for the orphans, but how far is too far for a government agency?

I believe the responsibility to feed the hungry, house the homeless, clothe the naked, heal the sick, and parent the orphan falls to the people, not the collection of people selected in general election to represent the people in matters of interstate commerce and emergency protection. Unfortunately, we don’t do these things sufficiently well as a general population of our own free will. Well intentioned people then feel the need to regulate and demand that these issues are provided for, but at what cost?

I should do more for other people. I wish I wasn’t as self serving as I am, hopefully I’ll continue to improve and be of more service to everyone around me. But what good does it do if I’m regulated into being of more service at the threat of imprisonment or fine? Now, I’m not saying it is to that point yet, but maybe we are on the path?

Gun control is not the answer because guns are not the problem. It makes the case that the elected officials in Washington D.C. are seeking to enforce good behavior by attempting to eliminate the possibility of bad behavior. They think that removing guns will prevent gun deaths. Well, duh. If there are no guns anywhere then there will be no gun deaths, but just because you can’t find a hammer doesn’t mean you can’t get that nail pounded, right? I’d find a rock, or a metal rod, or the handle of a screw driver. There is more than one way to pound a nail. The analogy fits. I respect their intention, if it is actually public safety, but I question their methods.

I believe the purpose of life is to experience growth and progression. If we cannot fail, we cannot grow. The desire to prevent failure may be good, but only superficially (and selfishly).

What do you think? Is gun control the answer? Is it the government’s job to prevent failure at all costs? Is being regulated to help others the same as helping others of your own will?

About paulbrodie

I am a writer and a musician. My education is in psychology with emphasis in industrial/organizational psychology. My work experience has been primarily with electronic document management. Academically and intellectually I am interested in criminology and sociology. I am married to my favorite person in the world and we have one daughter.
This entry was posted in Opinion, Thought expansion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about this?

