Glenn Beck

We are experiencing a time of great debate. Topics such as gun control, same-sex marriage, abortion, and economic recovery are filling up news headlines. Each topic seems to have two parties associated with it: those who vehemently oppose and those who vehemently support. Unfortunately, many people fail to remain civil in the discussion. They quickly align with one side or the other and tune out any opposing voices. I think we all do this to some extent on different topics. I know I have in the past, but it is something I make an effort to improve upon.

With all of the debate going on it is easy to cross the line of contention. Once contention is adopted all hope for civil discussion ceases until the contentious attitudes are dropped. Contention introduces a bad form of competition. Competition says “only one of us can be win” and contention says “its going to be me, at any cost.” Something I have learned is that it is less important to be right and more important to be true. Right implies someone else is wrong, and though some people can handle that situation with appropriate humility, I think many struggle with it. I think it is best if we try harder to understand a different perspective than to prejudge it.

Glenn Beck is a social commentator who has built an magnificent career for himself. I believe him to be a great thought leader. That’s my opinion. I know a lot of people will disagree with me. That’s great! There’s nothing wrong with disagreement, as long as we don’t allow it to rile us up into contention, which is very hard. I’ll probably be working on that for a long time to come, but I will be working on it.

I don’t need to advertise for Beck, he does a fine job of that on his own. I just wanted to share a video segment of his show from earlier this week. I like the points he makes about liberty, rights, and responsibilities. I think these are the foundational principles that are at the root of each of the social issues I introduced at the start of this post, along with possibly any other issue we face in this country and the world. These are the topics I am concerned with currently.

I think we are facing some troubling times, and though Beck is only one voice, I think his voice is very much worth listening to. He’s the only one who says things that need to be said sometimes. Things that I think need to be said. If you have never listened to, read, or watched Beck speak for himself, please take a few minutes to watch this video segment (link to original source; embedded from YouTube below).

 

And as always, please comment below if you would like to discuss anything I’ve said or anything Beck suggested in this segment.

About paulbrodie

I am a writer and a musician. My education is in psychology with emphasis in industrial/organizational psychology. My work experience has been primarily with electronic document management. Academically and intellectually I am interested in criminology and sociology. I am married to my favorite person in the world and we have one daughter.
This entry was posted in Opinion, Thought expansion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about this?

