On the Nature of God

Used with permission of artist: James L. Johnson JamesJohnsonArt.com

Used with permission of artist: James L. Johnson
JamesJohnsonArt.com

With recent events in the world, and following some of the themes I’ve written about over the last month or so, I’d like to quote a leader in my church regarding the relationship of God and man. This is what I believe, whether you believe the same or not I hope you find some inspiration in the message.

We have all seen a toddler learn to walk. He takes a small step and totters. He falls. Do we scold such an attempt? Of course not. What father would punish a toddler for stumbling? We encourage, we applaud, and we praise because with every small step, the child is becoming more like his parents.

Now, brethren, compared to the perfection of God, we mortals are scarcely more than awkward, faltering toddlers. But our loving Heavenly Father wants us to become more like Him, and, dear brethren, that should be our eternal goal too. God understands that we get there not in an instant but by taking one step at a time.

I do not believe in a God who would set up rules and commandments only to wait for us to fail so He could punish us. I believe in a Heavenly Father who is loving and caring and who rejoices in our every effort to stand tall and walk toward Him. Even when we stumble, He urges us not to be discouraged—never to give up or flee our allotted field of service—but to take courage, find our faith, and keep trying. – Dieter F. Uchtdorf speaking at a men’s conference April 6, 2013 [Transcript of full remarks]

My daughter is eleven months old. A few days ago she took her first unaided steps. We cheered for her.

About paulbrodie

I am a writer and a musician. My education is in psychology with emphasis in industrial/organizational psychology. My work experience has been primarily with electronic document management. Academically and intellectually I am interested in criminology and sociology. I am married to my favorite person in the world and we have one daughter.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Nature of God

  1. dinadove says:

    Beautiful. I love the way you tied the message back in one sentence about your daughter. Very impactful.

What do you think about this?

