Clinton, Biden, Gun Control

I am pro-liberty. I believe in the right to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness by way of possessions and personal beliefs. I don’t see the issue of gun rights as an issue of public safety; I see it as an issue of public control. I think there are three sides to the issue of guns in America: there are those who favor the right to own guns, those who oppose such rights, and those who don’t really care either way as long as no one is shooting at them. Great! I’m happy that we all have our own beliefs and follow them. What I’m not happy about is when someone doesn’t agree with someone else and tries to force them into agreement, or at least compliance.

There are some elected officials and/or celebrities who want to take away at least certain types of guns, if not all guns. Two of these types are former president Bill Clinton and current vice president Joe Biden. They might not want citizens to have any guns, but for now they are placating the masses by encouraging the ownership and use of shotguns over semi-automatic rifles, like the AR-15. I wrote about Joe Biden’s recommendation a few months ago, here. Today I want to mention something Bill Clinton said that is very similar to what Biden said.

I read this news brief and watched the associated video, which is embedded here:

The quote that stands out the most to me, and the reason I wanted to post this even though it’s old news by now, is this:

“If you live in a city and you think you need protection of your home, you’re way better off with a shotgun than an assault weapon. Trust me. It’s not even close.” – Bill Clinton

clintons wordI was in middle school and high school during Clinton’s presidency, all I remember about him is what I learned from Phil Hartman’s portrayals of him on Saturday Night Live. Was he a good president? I don’t know, but I think he is as flawed as the rest of us when it comes to being human. I don’t fault him for that. But that doesn’t mean I approve of his faults leading to illegal activity. My point is, trust you, Bill Clinton? I don’t think so. 

But then I got to wondering what his authority is on telling me what type of firearm I’m better off using for protection. Weren’t there a lot of rumors going around about the Clinton’s having some business associates, um, silenced? Maybe ol’ Bill really does know about the benefits of choosing a shotgun over an AR-15 rifle, which is what I assume he means by assault weapon. On a side note, I’m pretty sure the shotgun that he and Biden are recommending often serves side-by-side the M-16 in combat. All firearms can be assault weapons.

It’s not about guns, it’s about people. It always has been. From the gun rights perspective it’s about the people who are holding the guns, and from the controller perspective it’s about controlling the people, period.

Bill Clinton and Joe Biden don’t strike me as the type of guy whose advice I’d seek regarding self-defense or firearms. I certainly wouldn’t seek their advice politically, so why would I personally?

I guess what it comes down to is that I really thought it was funny to hear Bill Clinton say “trust me” about anything.

About paulbrodie

I am a writer and a musician. My education is in psychology with emphasis in industrial/organizational psychology. My work experience has been primarily with electronic document management. Academically and intellectually I am interested in criminology and sociology. I am married to my favorite person in the world and we have one daughter.
This entry was posted in Cartoon, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think about this?

